Travel Light, Warm, and Still in Style

Hi guys,

With Christmas around the corner and many people traveling home for the holidays, I thought it would be useful to share my favorite winter life-saver items that are light, warm, and chic at the same time.

I recently traveled to San Francisco and boy was it a cold weekend there!! California winters are nothing compared to those most people face, but the temperatures were definitely a bit lower than I am comfortable with. Despite the weather, I did not want to abandon my dresses (love this Max Studio lace one and wanted to wear it to brunch one of the days–similar here, here and here) or ripped jeans and the ability to feel chic, yet not frozen. Soooo, I reached out to the types of items that had served me well during a January trip to London last year:

  • I love wearing knee-length wool coats as those are so elegant and go with everything–dresses, pants, skirts, jeans… Only one problem–wool coats don’t fair too well in the wind or rain. I have to admit I did not really want to wear anything else, as I found most other winter jackets bulky and boxy. However, this Calvin Klein down jacket changed my mind (love this white option currently available at 50% off)! It is stylish, very light, yet the down keeps you warm, and the shell material can protect you from all winter weather elements. Added bonus–this jacket can be housed in a tiny bag as it compresses a lot, so it is also a space-saver.
  • OTK boots–cute, modish and double up as a second or third layer to keep your legs protected up and over your knees. I love this Nine West pair (on sale now with extra 20% off at checkout) as the heel is not too high making them comfortable for traveling and exploring a new city for hours! BTW, those are not too hard to take off for when you are passing TSA… 😉
  • Your favorite scarf–I am one to always have a stiff neck when it gets a bit cooler, so I can appreciate a great accessory that will cover my neck, but could also be used to cover your mouth and nose when those need some help against the frost.My neck is in love with this Burberry scarf.It is versatile as its size and pattern are a classic in neutral colors.
  • Leggings–I love a basic black pair. Leggings can be warn with a dress or even as a layer under your ripped jeans for when you don’t want the wind finding its way to your bare legs trough those rips. This Matty M pair is only $15, but sits well and does not fall down as the day goes by.

So go on and enjoy your trip in style and happy Christmas week, everyone!

Love Always,

MV

10 thoughts on “Travel Light, Warm, and Still in Style

  1. I love how you put this look together! Great thinking incorporating your leggings instead of wasting such a cute dress that can also be worn in the winter. Love it! Thanks for sharing your tips with us. Xoxo

    Like

Leave a Reply

