Citrus, rose, sandalwood and musk!

Hello, lovely readers!

Did you know that our sense of smell helps up enjoy our food, but also has the ability to evoke emotions and awaken certain memories? Just a whiff of cologne or perfume can send you down Memory Lane, remind you of a friend, you favorite uncle or the boy you had a high school crush on–no matter how far in the past that may have been.

I am one of those girls that enjoys having a good perfume at hand and appreciates a smell that amuses the senses in a gentle, fresh manner. Sooooo, in today’s post I would like to share with you my favorite scents.

French and Italian perfumes tend to have my heart. I do like some American designers’ scents as well, however I have found that those are not as long-lasting as the old world’s fashion houses’.

Without further ado, here are my top 5 scents for women:

#5 Chanel – COCO Mademoiselle – with high notes of fresh orange, followed by may rose and grasse jasmine, and base notes of patchouli and vetiver, this scent is fresh and memorable with a twist of oriental sensuality!

#4 Tom Ford – White Patchouli – just used up the last drops in my bottle and really loved the woody notes in this scent. Those are accented by the gentle smell of white flowers pairing up to create one bohemian scent olfactory beauty!

#3 Prada – Infusion D’Iris – drove me crazy till I figured out what this perfume was. A new boss began working at my office years ago, I loved her perfume, but did not feel comfortable asking her what it was. One day I decided to go to Nordstrom and just sniff all perfumes till I found it… luckily before my nose got complete sensory overload.  Oh what joy it was to finally figure it out! 

This sent awakens your senses with high notes of mandarin, galbanum, orange and orange blossom, the mid-notes are those of cedar, iris and vetiver, and the base of incense and benzoin. Some people find it a bit powdery, but it makes me feel fresh and light.

#2 Chloe – Chloé Eau de Parfum – this is Chloe’s signature scent and I have been stopped and asked what I am wearing on numerous occasions, despite the fact that this perfume feels really light to me. It has that unforgettable and unique scent that combined the high notes of pink peony, freesia, and lychee, with the middle notes of magnolia flower, lily of the valley, and rose, and the base of cedarwood, amber, and honey. It truly is a famine delight to the olfactory sense.

#1 Cartier -‘Baiser Volé’  – In translations that is “Stolen Kisses” and I LOVE both the Eau de Parfum and Eau de Toilette options. This is one of the scents that captured my heart and screamed my name the moment I brought my nose to it–it was love at first sniff! Hehe! This scent is purely floral and combines only the notes of lily petals and green lily leaves yet it has a fresh, floral and powdery quality all at the same time. Just give it a sniff and it will steal your heart!

If you are looking for a new scent I hope you can draw some inspiration from this post and have an olfactory delight finding the one!

Love Always,

MV

 

7 thoughts on “Citrus, rose, sandalwood and musk!

  1. These all sounds like great perfumes! I have a few that I love wearing and I am more into fruity smells but I’m thinking maybe I should try something different! I need to check these out! Thanks for sharing❤️ Xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My pleasure, Helena! I love citrus scents as well. I believe Carties has one called Orange Essence in French that is amazing. I also like Light Blue by D&G as old as it is!

      Xoxo,
      Marieta

      Like

Leave a Reply

