French Artist Chic

Hello lovelies,

Today I wanted to express the artistic side of me while still having to go to work in office-appropriate attire, so what came to mind were accessories and classic wardrobe pieces moving to the dance of style together. So, what did I need to achieve my “French Artist” look?

Classics:

  • Fitted blazer – I always imagine a French girl in a fitted jacket that accentuates her waist and plays up her feminine figure. I picked this Banana Republic blazer because I love the color blocking, the fit and its collar–all three of these elements make it unique and artsy, while still in the world of classics! Mine is a couple of years old, but here are a few options available today. I particularly like the Herringbone Luxe Brushed Twill One-Button Blazer and the One-Button Dotted Blazer.
  • A lace top – I chose a beige lace top and layered it over a black tea to keep in the color scheme. Lace is very old-world charm, so adding one more to the “French” charm of this outfit (beautiful options here and here.)
  • High-waist black jeans – you cannot go wrong with a pair of good black skinny jeans. In my mind those would always remain a classic as they pair up so well with boots and heels and can be both weekend and work week appropriate. Mine are by J-brand and have proven very comfy.
  • Pointed-toe over-the-knees boots – I know pointed-toe is not everyone’s cup of tea, however I feel like those give your legs an extra oomph by giving the illusion of added length. My pair is for Nine West and I love the tassels in the back as well as the comfort level of this pair.

Accessories:

  • A newsboy hat – I remember being in Venice and seeing a stylish little boy. Before he said a word I knew it was French – the newspaper-boy hat had given him in–he was the cutest. Mine is from Americal Eagle and a few years old, but here is a similar one and another I like quite a bit.
  • Round glasses – those always make me think of the Beatles and would anyone argue they are not artistic?!? These Ray-Ban Clubround are my current shades obsession.
  • A scarf to tie in the color scheme – this Burberry scarf is soft, warm and the perfect pattern. It is the perfect partner for any coat or blazer be it black, creme, beige, white, red…
  • Leather Bag – I love this Paul Castelloe bag – it is classy and functional! Not sure they ship to the US, but I love this Rebecca Mincoff bag or this Sole Society option for under $100.

I hope this look inspires you to be creative, edgy and artsy even on week days when you need to be in business casual or business attire.

Love always,

MV

 

12 thoughts on “French Artist Chic

    1. Awww, thanks so much, Nikki! You are such an inspiration yourself–truly love your style! ❀

      Aren't high-waist jeans so great for winter. I know I would sound like a grandma, but they do protect your back from the cold too! Hehe!

      Have a fantastic day!

      Xoxo,
      Marieta

      Like

Leave a Reply

