From Cocoon to a Beautiful Midi

Hello, beauties!

Happy mid-week! Doesn’t is feel joyous to know you are getting over the hump and half-way trough to the weekend?! On that note let me share a few fun facts about a fabric I love–SILK!

MERISU Silk Green Midi Dress, Nude Clutch, Banana Republic Gold Heels, Polaroid Round Glasses, Summer 2017oord_in_style_MERISU Silk Green Midi Dress, Nude Clutch, Banana Republic Gold Heels, Polaroid Round Glasses, Lucky brand Jewelryoord_in_style_MERISU Midi Dress, Nude Clutch, Banana Republic Gold Heels, Polaroid Round Glasses, Nordstrom Sale

Did you know that silk is obtained from the cocoons of the larvae of the mulberry silkworm? It is a natural protein fiber that can be woven into fabric. Silk textile was first developed in ancient China and has been considered a luxurious material since 3630 BC, but is currently widely used in the medical field as well (magical properties, I tell ya!). It is very comfortable to wear in warm weather and while active, because it is very absorbent. It is also great for cold weather, as its low conductivity keeps warm air close to the skin. OK, so why am I going on and on about silk?!? Well, because I am in love with my new silk midi dress from METISU.

oord_in_style_MERISU Silk Green Front Tie Midi Dress, Nude Clutch, Banana Republic Gold Heels, Polaroid Round Glasses, SummerMERISU Silk Green Midi Dress, Nude Clutch, Banana Republic Gold Heels, Polaroid Round Glasses, Nordstrom Saleoord_in_style_MERISU Silk Green Midi Dress, Nude Clutch, Banana Republic Gold Heels, Polaroid Round Glasses, Raymond Weil Swiss Watch

Why is this dress my new favorite?

  • Silk is perfect for the summer heat and it does indeed give the dress a luxurious look, while my skin enjoys its softness;
  • If you have read my prior article you know I love dresses that can go from a day in the office to a night out and this one fits the bill as it has midi length, half-sleeve, scoop neckline that all feels conservatively-elegant;
  • The dress may look simple, but has so many details to enjoy: paneled design, tied waist, a split front and pockets! Yes, pockets – and I so LOVE having those!! Let’s be honest – I never use them as such, but just knowing they are there makes me feel cool!
  • The color is not something you see every day and I know I will be wearing this dress well into Fall (when the weather permits that is) as it combined perfectly with earthy neutrals.

oord_in_style_MERISU Silk Green Midi Dress, Raymond Weil Watch, Lucky Brand Accessories, Nordstrom Saleoord_in_style_MERISU Midi Dress, Nude Clutch, Banana Republic Gold Heels, Polaroid Round Glasses, Swiss Watchoord_in_style_MERISU Silk Green Midi Dress, Nude Clutch, Banana Republic Gold Heels, Polaroid Round Glasses, Raymond Weiloord_in_style_MERISU Silk Olive Green Midi Dress, Nude Clutch, Banana Republic Gold Heels

Have you checked out METISU’s dresses yet? They have trendy, new items (not just dresses, but I am just a sucker for those) every week! Let me know if you find anything you like on their website! There is an up to 70% mid-season sale right now! Would love to see it!

oord_in_style_MERISU Midi Dress, Nude Clutch, Banana Republic Gold Heels, Polaroid Round Glasses, Swiss Watchoord_in_style_MERISU Silk Midi Dress, Summer Dress, Nordstrom Sale, Lucky Brand Earringsoord_in_style_MERISU Green Front Slid Dress, Nude Clutch, Banana Republic Gold Heelsoord_in_style_MERISU Olive Green Dress, Nude Clutch, Banana Republic Gold Heels, Downtown Los Angeles, Nordstrom Sale

Dress: METISU

Heels: old Banana Republic, similar here

Clutch: old, similar here

Sunglasses: Polaroid

Earrings and Necklace: Lucky Brand

Ring: Sundance

Watch: Raymond Weil

Happy rest of the week, beauties!

Love Always,

Marieta

21 thoughts on “From Cocoon to a Beautiful Midi

  1. It’s such a cute dress! The perfect dress to transition from summer to fall. That’s definitely something we should think about with our latest purchases because fall will be here before you know it. I’ll have to check out more of what they have to offer. Thanks for sharing love.

    Xoxo
    http://www.stylemefancy.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much, Pentene!!

      I have developed a METISU addiction 🙊🙉🙈… just love their dresses! There is always a new one I want!

      You are so right, fall is around the corner, but I really don’t want summer to end…

      Have a fab rest of the week!

      Xoxo, 😘😘
      Marieta

      Like

  2. Hi,

    I am so in love with this dress. Love the fact that it is silk and it just looks so elegant on you! Perfect all the way!

    Xoxo,
    AC

    Like

    1. Hi Pia,

      Doesn’t the color and the length of the dress lend itself to fall weather as well?! Although I have to admit it is super light and breezy, so perfect for LA summer days!

      Thank you so much for visiting the blog–can’t wait to check out yours!

      Xoxo,
      Marieta

      Like

  3. Dear Marieta, your silk dress is such a beautiful piece! You are right, it looks simple but has a lot of small details. Me personally prefer simple models, love this clean effect.. You look very chic in this dress… it can be worn by many different occassions… greets from Luzern, Martina

    Like

    1. Hi Martina!

      Thank you so much! I am just like you–prefer a simple, elegant look, rather than a lot of blows and whistles, hehe! This dress has quiet sophistication about it that I love!

      Happy Tuesday and kisses,
      Marieta

      Like

  4. I watched an interesting documentary on PBS about silkworms. They are such fascinating insects and valued as well. Marieta, I adore your dress. This color is so stunning on you. You look so cool and elegant. These dresses by Metisu are fab. I could not be more happier with the two that I recently ordered. Have a super weekend babe.

    Xx
    Nikki
    http://www.nikkilivinglife.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Nikki!!

      Agreed! I used to have three silkworms as a kid for a school project and it was so fascinating to take care of those…

      Oh, so exciting!! Cannot wait to see your dresses!!

      Happy weekend!!

      Xoxo,
      Marieta

      Like

    1. Hi Jez!

      So happy to hear this dress inspired you! I highly recommend it–the 100% silk, the silhouette , the length, the pockets–all features make it fun, but dressy at the same time. It is also on a great sale right now.

      Let me know if you do get it!!

      Xoxo,
      Marieta

      Like

  5. My dear,
    That is such a gorgeous dress! I’m loving silk pieces lately and that color was literally made for you! I love that shade of green on you. I must go check their dresses, so curious about it ❤️

    Love,

    Filipa

    Like

    1. Awww, thanks so much Filipa!

      Isn’t silk just perfect for the heat of summer?! I fell in love with the color as well. Was not sure how it would look on me, but took the risk and it totally paid off. Yes, let me know if you find something you like on the METISU website–they do have tons to choose from.

      Xoxo,
      Marieta

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

